Timeless love and petty theft

I read If I Stay and Where She Went this past week, both by Gayle Forman.  The first is the story of 18-year-old Mia, who is in a coma after a horrific accident; the second is the sequel.  Can’t say much more without giving things away.  What I can say is that they are both remarkable love stories, and not in a hip, teen-only way.  Forman dares to write about teens who like adults, have complex thoughts, and are capable of seeing beyond themselves.  Refreshing.  Be prepared for sad, though.

I had a lot of face time with the under-10 set this week, as I sold many books and school supplies to them at a book fair.  And I can say with confidence: the next generation is wily.  Or maybe I am playing with fewer marbles.  While there was no blatant thievery there were plenty of mini-cons.  One child really wanted to buy a Barbie book with Barbie money, which I would have allowed if the U. S. Treasury recognized Ken as legitimate currency.  Ten bucks was stolen and is still missing and one poor kid got caught up in an elaborate Poster Scheme.  Note to parents: don’t send your elementary child to school with $20.  As my husband says when coaching baseball and softball (and this applies to everything): “kids happen.”

~ by alicetownsend on May 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
