You ruin everything

I must say: I haven’t been in the cheeriest mood lately.  Two words: three teenagers.  So between door slamming and “you always make me feel bad!” to “why do you need to know?” I’ve fought the urge to jump in the old Escape and…escape.

I picked up Kate Atkinson’s new book, another Jackson Brodie affair, Started Early, Took My Dog.  As with her three previous books with this character, there is no lack of violence (children and dogs), messy drunk people and brooding over lost youth.  Jackson’s adventures runs parallel to another female character; both suddenly find themselves as caretakers.   Both are hardly in the position to assume such a huge responsibility (well, one is larger than the other, but still).  I like it so far – good writing, but it may have something to do with my mood (see above).  Anyway, sometimes it’s cathartic to read about something far worse than your situation (as long as it’s fiction).

Here’s scan of one of my daughters’ drawings.  While this outfit and accessories are not mom-approved, I can only hope it means she will have no problem making her own decisions.


~ by alicetownsend on June 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
