Stuff That Attitude

Having just finished painting my son’s room – bringing it up to a normal health code standard – I was elated to cram all his pre-teen items into a Hefty bag with the hope some other little boy would find joy in the plastic T-Rex and the Harry Potter wand.  As I was dropping off the loot, I ran into a youth sports acquaintance.  “How has your summer been?” I asked, sort of interested.  She went on to tell me it had been good but they were tired from traveling in Europe for three weeks with the soccer team.  “What about you guys?” she asked.  “Traveling?”  “No,” I answered truthfully, “we don’t travel.  Too expensive.”

My answer landed at her feet like a deflated basketball.  Done with my petty, judgmental remark for the day, I delivered my bag and ran away.  Sometimes this stuff bugs me, sometimes not.  Just because we choose to spend our money on, say, cleats, overpriced pizza and hair color, should I be bitter?  I always think there’s room for a little.  I came home, read the newspapers – British youth raging, markets dropping like carnival rides, droughts in half the world – and realized I should change my tiny little attitude.

Below is the latest purchase.  This has been a boon to the marriage:

Made you look! Not really that exciting!

I am one step away from wearing Easy Spirit shoes and having a whole bunch of Jean Nate bottles stacked in my closet (just like my Nana).  The BH has one, too, and now he can no longer accuse me of looking down upon him from the tower of pillows.

Just finished a few books: Jordan Sonnenblick’s After Ever After (a YA book), and a few Garry Disher Australian mysteries.  As always, I’m amazed at how well YA and Teen authors handle the big stuff: cancer, suicide, divorce, global disaster.  The good ones address matters head-on and unafraid.   Despite the photo above I recommend reading some of these books.  Cram a few into those secret pockets on the side of that pillow ($20.  Bed, Bath and Beyond).  Disher’s mysteries I came to regard as beer chasers after a more refined drink.  I do like his flawed characters.  Hey, I may never make it all the way to Australia.  Just in case, it’s nice to know which seedy, low-rent neighborhoods to avoid.  I’m now reading Monica Ali’s Untold Story, which is very polished and breezy, with an undercurrent of pending disaster and mystery.  It’s also coming from a tasty “what if” premise:  what if Diana wasn’t killed in that tunnel???  I wasn’t able to make it through her other books, so I’m hoping this will change my mind.

~ by alicetownsend on August 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
